Powered by Blogger.
RSS

Quotes From Twilight Breaking Dawn

@TheSMBoyce's Thoughts on Book Covers #BookMarketing #WriteTip #Fantasy

Heyo! I’m S. M. Boyce, author of Lichgates, and I’m here to talk about book covers and why it’s important to have a professional one for your book!
So let’s start with a story.
You’re scrolling through Amazon’s top 100 and something catches your eye. It stands out from all the others–a book with a great cover. You click on the thumbnail to bring up a larger image and then you continue to read the blurb and then, once that stellar book description hooks you, you click “Buy now.”
This story is a common one, especially in our fast-paced world where little holds my attention for longer than a few seconds.
You know the old adage: don’t judge a book by its cover. That’s nice and all, but people do it anyway. The cover—the colors, the text, the image, the artwork as a whole—grabs my attention and makes me pause long enough to look deeper.
Okay, one more story.
Let’s say you’re visiting a friend in a new town and you want to do some clothes shopping. You see a strip mall and park in the lot. As you look at the exterior of the shops, you see one that has a gorgeous sign, bright lights, and a door with “Welcome!” painted on it in green script.
Next to that, you see another shop that has a broken sign, flaky two-year-old stickers on the window glass, and a door with multiple pieces of paper taped to it indicating rules and regulations of the shop.
Which shop would you rather go into?
Even though both shops may have the same exact shirt, or the same pair of jeans, you will most likely find yourself visiting the shop that seems more colorful and professional. In fact, this shop might even have higher prices or it may have lower quality clothing, but it was the one that grabbed your attention. You may hate the shopkeeper and walk out in disgust in five minutes, but its appearance made you give it a chance.
A chance is all an author needs to win over a new fan. That’s why you must have a cover that pulls the reader closer to the blurb and the ultimate buy. It gives you as the author a fighting chance among all those other books in the same genre. A cover is the welcome sign for readers.
So let’s open the floor, shall we? What are some of your favorite covers? Why do you like them?

“The writing is flawless. The kingdoms and surrounding landscapes breathtaking. The Grimoire is a piece of imaginative genius that bedazzles from the moment Kara falls into the land of Ourea. – Nikki Jefford, author of the Spellbound Trilogy
Spring 2013 Rankings
#6 Kindle Store | #1 Science Fiction & Fantasy | #1 Epic Fantasy | #1 Sword & Sorcery | #1 Teens
Now an international Amazon bestseller. Fans of The Hobbit, The Lord of the Rings, and Eragon will enjoy this contemporary remix of the classic epic fantasy genre.
—————-
Kara Magari is about to discover a beautiful world full of terrifying things: Ourea.
Kara, a college student still reeling from her mother’s recent death, has no idea the hidden world of Ourea even exists until a freak storm traps her in a sunken library. With nothing to do, she opens an ancient book of magic called the Grimoire and unwittingly becomes its master, which means Kara now wields the cursed book’s untamed power. Discovered by Ourea’s royalty, she becomes an unwilling pawn in a generations-old conflict – a war intensified by her arrival. In this world of chilling creatures and betrayal, Kara shouldn’t trust anyone… but she’s being hunted and can’t survive on her own. She drops her guard when Braeden, a native soldier with a dark secret, vows to keep her safe. And though she doesn’t know it, her growing attraction to him may just be her undoing.
For twelve years, Braeden Drakonin has lived a lie. The Grimoire is his one chance at redemption, and it lands in his lap when Kara Magari comes into his life. Though he begins to care for this human girl, there is something he wants more. He wants the Grimoire.
Welcome to Ourea, where only the cunning survive.
—————-
Novels in the Grimoire Saga:
Lichgates (#1)
Treason (#2)
Heritage (#3) – Available Fall 2013
Illusion (#4) – Available Fall 2014
Buy Now @ Amazon & Smashwords
Genre – Fantasy
Rating – PG13
More details about the author
 Connect with SM Boyce on Facebook & Twitter & Pinterest

  • Digg
  • Del.icio.us
  • StumbleUpon
  • Reddit
  • RSS

0 comments:

Post a Comment