Powered by Blogger.
RSS

Quotes From Twilight Breaking Dawn

Author Interview – SM Boyce

Did writing this book teach you anything and what was it? Oh yeah, definitely. My goal is to experiment with every novel I write. Lichgates was an experiment in finishing a book and learning what it took to become a real author. Treason was more of a literary indulgence, and I used it to experiment with various types of betrayal. There are several types of betrayal in Treason, and it was my goal to hone my writing craft to build a smoother narrative and even more dynamic characters. So yep, every book has a lesson to share.

Do you intend to make writing a career? Yep. I’m in this for the long haul. We writers never retire.

Have you developed a specific writing style? I like to stay out of the way. I heard a quote once that was something along the lines of, “When reading takes no effort, great effort went into the writing.” I strive to make my narrative as clean and fluid as possible, while still employing vivid descriptions and a subtly sarcastic undertone that keeps you laughing at just the right times.

Have you ever had writer’s block? If so, what do you do about it? Yep, definitely. I like to go for a walk or listen to cinematic music. That lets me clear my head and gives me a clean slate with which to work. I actually blog a bit about overcoming writer’s block and more in my Writer’s Corner. I encourage authors who want to learn from the successes and failures of published authors and industry specialists to check it out.

Who is your publisher? Caffeinated Books Publishing. Feel free to check them out: http://caffeinatedbooks.com/

What are your current writing projects now? I’m currently working on Heritage, which is Book #3 in my Grimoire Saga. I keep an online journal of updates, if you’re interested.

Are there any new authors that have sparked your interest and why? Yep. My fellow Caffeinated Books Publishing author Nikki Jefford is incredibly talented. Her books focus on paranormal fantasy and urban fantasy, and all 5 of her novels have sparked my imagination. I don’t usually go fan girl, but she has me wrapped around her finger.

“The writing is flawless. The kingdoms and surrounding landscapes breathtaking. The Grimoire is a piece of imaginative genius that bedazzles from the moment Kara falls into the land of Ourea. – Nikki Jefford, author of the Spellbound Trilogy

Spring 2013 Rankings

#6 Kindle Store | #1 Science Fiction & Fantasy | #1 Epic Fantasy | #1 Sword & Sorcery | #1 Teens

Now an international Amazon bestseller. Fans of The Hobbit, The Lord of the Rings, and Eragon will enjoy this contemporary remix of the classic epic fantasy genre.

—————-

Kara Magari is about to discover a beautiful world full of terrifying things: Ourea.

Kara, a college student still reeling from her mother’s recent death, has no idea the hidden world of Ourea even exists until a freak storm traps her in a sunken library. With nothing to do, she opens an ancient book of magic called the Grimoire and unwittingly becomes its master, which means Kara now wields the cursed book’s untamed power. Discovered by Ourea’s royalty, she becomes an unwilling pawn in a generations-old conflict – a war intensified by her arrival. In this world of chilling creatures and betrayal, Kara shouldn’t trust anyone… but she’s being hunted and can’t survive on her own. She drops her guard when Braeden, a native soldier with a dark secret, vows to keep her safe. And though she doesn’t know it, her growing attraction to him may just be her undoing.

For twelve years, Braeden Drakonin has lived a lie. The Grimoire is his one chance at redemption, and it lands in his lap when Kara Magari comes into his life. Though he begins to care for this human girl, there is something he wants more. He wants the Grimoire.

Welcome to Ourea, where only the cunning survive.

—————-

Novels in the Grimoire Saga:

Lichgates (#1)

Treason (#2)

Heritage (#3) – Available Fall 2013

Illusion (#4) – Available Fall 2014

Buy Now @ Amazon & Smashwords

Genre – Fantasy

Rating – PG13

More details about the author

Connect with SM Boyce on Facebook & Twitter & Pinterest

  • Digg
  • Del.icio.us
  • StumbleUpon
  • Reddit
  • RSS

0 comments:

Post a Comment